She Brought Me Two Flowers

She brought me two flowers.
She thought they’d look nice.
But she didn’t know,
I ate flowers a day, twice.
Did she know what I was,
What I liked to eat?
Did she know that fresh flowers
Are my favorite treat?
I thought it endearing,
Her kindness and sharing,
I did not want her to think
I ate out of not-caring.
. . . . . .
I brought him two flowers,
Each trip to the zoo.
The keepers told me his favorite,
That “he can only eat two!”
What an interesting creature
With spots colored like mud.
But his big eyes looked guilty,
As he chomped through the bud.
He bent his long neck over,
As if to express regret.
I thought him truly noble,
The sweetest giraffe I’ve ever met.

One comment

  1. Smo · September 4, 2012

    I love this one. It reminds me of the story about Maurice Sendak and the little boy who ate the drawing. Love love love it. Love all of them.

Leave a Reply

