A Battle of Epic Portions

I could not decide where I wanted to eat
As I walked under the trees of my favorite street.
Decided my belly was craving Italian,
As I stepped inside the Meatball Battalion.
A cute little restaurant, I’d visited before,
I was led to the back to sit by a black door.
I ordered my usual lasagna with cheese
And asked for a glass of icewater, please.
A creak, and the black door timidly moved,
Revealing a room I’d never seen used.
I peeked through the crack and what did I see,
But a withered old man staring right back at me.
His eyes widened in greeting, his lips unable
For a noodle draped from his mouth to the table.
The noodle grew from a pile truly heaping.
He kept on eating while I kept on peeping.
As much as he ate, the heap stayed the same
Blinked my eyes, thought it must be a game.
He never paused once, my food grew cold,
The restaurant was closing, I think I was told.
Who was this man, and what was he doing,
Unceasingly, constantly, chewing and chewing?
The waiter confirmed that this scene was not petty,
This man was battling the world’s longest spaghetti.

3 comments

  1. lisa · September 4, 2012

    Loved your discovery at Neatballs Battalion. Very clever, and I liked the rhythm you choose. Can’t wait for the next installation. Keep them coming, you are like a machine.

  2. Aunt Celia · September 5, 2012

    Enjoyed these so much, you are now an icon on my home screen! Can’t wait for the next one!

  3. Grandma Gibbons · September 5, 2012

    Grandma Gibbons says you should have all your stories published! Really!

Leave a Reply

